tea time at T-bar

I have the afternoon off so I decided today was a great day to post up and get some more blogging done. I drove to Crested Butte and arrived at T-bar around 4pm – is this considered tea time?

IMG_8083

 

I ordered a peach apricot iced tea and sat along the wall, my back to an old french door that no longer opens and just adds aesthetic to the shop.

IMG_8081

The only people here are a set of two kids to my right, sitting by the window, and a middle aged man two tables to the left of me drinking a smoothie. Soft music with no words is playing and I am quickly enamored with this small storefront – a quiet and quaint place to get work done.

A few moments pass and the barista – is that what you call someone brewing tea? is it the same as coffee? – brings out my drink. Shortly after both kids and man leave and I am alone with my tea, the soft music, and the spin of the ceiling fan above me.

Well, I guess I won’t be writing much about conversation today…

IMG_8082

A man walks in and has no clue what to order. If you’re not familiar with tea, it can be a little daunting looking at this menu. The young man behind the counter helps him settle on something of interest and hooks him up with his drink.

A group of four walk in the door and each of the girls orders a mint kombucha to go. The boy doesn’t order anything and instead sits down and stares at his phone. I think I want to grab a kombucha to go before I leave; that sounds so good!

I ask them what they think of it, and they unanimously respond that I need to order one. My mind is made up.

They leave, and I am alone again.

I hang out for a bit but no one else enters the store while I am there. I pack up and go to Third Bowl for ice cream before heading back to Gunnison.

IMG_8085

Sometimes a quick trip out of town and a pit-stop for tea is all you need to recharge.

This is episode five of The Flannelogues.

-JD

Leave a Reply

